Time Doctor settings when in an office versus working from home

Time Doctor has a few different types of users, and you need to adjust the software settings for those different situations.

We have a setting to “Allow off computer tracking”. You can find this under: Settings > Manage users. Only admins have access to this setting. For each person in your company you can select “Allow off computer tracking” as yes or no. If you select “Yes” then when they go away from their computer for 3 minutes and then come back to the computer, Time Doctor will ask if you were working. Here is an example of what it looks like:

You might think “Why is this even necessary, I can just click to go on a break when I want?”. The problem is if you want accurate time tracking you need a reminder sometimes when you come back to the computer to select that you are working and also when you are on a break to select that you are on a break. It’s very hard to remember to click “Break” every time, you will probably forget at times!

So if your team work in an office you will definitely need to select “yes” for “Allow off computer tracking”. In an office environment there will almost certainly be some meetings and you want to make sure that time is tracked effectively. If your team works only from home and never need to be away from the computer, then you can select “no”.

Changing the away from computer settings

You can also change the pop up so that it doesn’t come up as quickly. Instead of 3 minutes you can set it at 5 or 10 minutes for example. Admins can change this under: Settings > Company settings > Reminder pop ups. We don’t usually recommend you change this setting however, as it will mean that your time tracking will be less accruate.

There are 2 comments

We'd love to hear from you!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *