We are introducing a new “Allow manual time” setting which is a highly requested feature. This post is to explain how it works.
Admins can choose to set “allow manual time” on the manage users page
On the manage users page, admins have the option to allow manual time for each person in the company. Our recommendation is consider allowing manual time for most or all people in your company. Disallowing manual time should be only for people that work 100% of their time on their computer.
The manage users page looks like this:
What happens if manual time is allowed
If manual time is allowed then the person will be able to:
- Use mobile apps to record time.
- Use the edit time page to add or edit time.
- If they are working on a task and they go away from their computer, their computer will pop up a message to ask if they were working when they come back. If they were working they can easily say yes or no.
- All of this time is automatically approved HOWEVER an admin can always disapprove this time on the “Review manual time” page.
The is the “Welcome back” pop up to ask if the person was working when they come back to the computer:
What happens if manual time is NOT allowed
If manual time is not allowed then the following will happen:
- They will not get the welcome back pop up, so they will not have an easy way to add time when away from the computer.
- They can still use mobile apps and they can add time on the edit time page but any time recorded this way will be automatically disapproved. It will have to be approved on the “Review manual time” page by their admin.
Please note also that if the person just edits the task name or project name on the edit time page then this will not require approval.
This is how it looks on the “Review Manual Time” page